32 Political leaders joined Congress


In a setback to the Bhatratiya Janata Party (BJP) led coalition government of the state, altogether 32 political leaders, former BJP leaders, corporators, ward members, pradhans, social workers and other political workers, including veteran politician- O. Joy Singh, Dr. N. Dwijamani Singh, A.R.Khan and Col.(Retd.) Shantikumar Sapam, have officially joined the Congress party on Monday.

A grand reception ceremony of the incoming party members was held at Congress Bhavan, BT Road, Imphal, in presence of the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee’s President, T.N.Haokip; Congress Legislative Party Leader and former Chief Minister, O. Ibobi Singh; AICC Central Working Committee member and former Deputy Chief Minister, Gaikhangam; and other MPCC executive leaders, members and a large number of congress workers and supporters.

Amongst the big quartet who joined the Congress on Monday, O. Joy Singh was an Ex-MLA and former BJP candidate of 20-Langthabal A/C, Mohammed Abdul Rahman Khan @ A.RKhan (Retd. IAS) was the former Vice-President of BJP Manipur, Dr. Nameirakpam Dwijamani Singh- the former BJP candidate of 10-Uripok A/C, and Col.(Retd.) Shantikumar Sapam of Thangmeiband Hijam Leikai, was a person amongst the new entries in political field.

The list of the other new members of the party included- Y. Lokeshwar Singh, Social Worker, of Yumnam Huidrom Makha Leikai under Wangoi A/C; L. Arenkumar Singh @ Gandhi, Corporator, IMC, Ward No.4 (elected in INC ticket but & joined BJP) under Uripok A/C; Herojit Ngangomba, Corporator, IMC, Ward No. 27 (elected in INC ticket & joined BJP) under Lamsang A/c; Okram Dhamendra Singh, social worker, of Kyamgei Maning Leikai under 6-keirao A/c; Ningthoujam Rajendro Singh, former candidate of federal(2007) and MSCP (2012) of office bearer of BJP Hijanglam Mandal; Chandam Iboyaima Singh, former president of BJP Hijanglam mandal; Luwangsangbam Babu Singh, President BJYM, Lamlai Mandal; Ngairangbam Sobhachandra Singh, General Secretary BJYM, Lamlai Mandal;  Wanghengbam Jemmi Singh, Executive member, BJYM, Lamlai Mandal; and Soibam Kulabidhu Singh, former Zilla Parishad member of Thoubal District.

In Langthabal Assemby constituency including Mandal, the new members who have joined the Congress comprised of- Thongam Guneshwar Singh, Pradhan; Thokchom Kunjarani, Pradhan; Golmei Roy Kabui, Pradhan; Sorokhaibam Nirjit Singh, Ward member; Lourembam Premjit, Ward member; Ningiombam Chaoba Singh, Ward member; Oinam Saratchandra Singh Ward member; Laishram Gamvi Singh, Ward Member; Naorem Manglembi Devi, Ward member; Laishram Basanta Singh, Ward member; Mutum Dhaneshori Devi, Ward member; Okram Jiban Singh Ward member; Irom Sushila Devi; Ward member; Sagolsem Ronel Meitei, Ex-Zilla Parishad and Ex-President of BJYM, Langthabal Mandal; Laishram Brajamohan Meitei, former President BJP Langthabal Mandal; Nongthombam Noren, former vice-President of BJP Langthabal mandal; Hawaibam Somarendro, former Secretary of BJP Langthal Mandal; and Naorem Raghumani, former Treasurer, BJP, Langthabal Mandal.

Speaking at the function, O. joy said the Indian National Congress is the only political party which can save India’s democracy and its Constitution. BJP under Narendra Modi rules the country in such a way that the country has now became ‘undeclared emergency’, and Freedom of Speech, Secularism, the fabrics of India’s Constitution and all constitutional or statutory Institutes have become in danger. Crime against children and women, mob-lynching in the name of cow have been on the rise under the BJP ruled India, he said.

He jibed the BJP government in the state that once Modi had said the Congress regime was 10 percent government; but now, the present BJP government has become 30 percent government. Freedom of press has been in a declining situation under the rule N. Biren Singh’s and Narendra Modi’s of BJP governments at the state as weel as the centre.

“To save India, to save democracy and to save Indian Constitution, all like-minded political parties have come together under Mahagatbandhan to fight the BJP misrule of the country,” he said.

A.R.Khan said he had joined the BJP thinking that there will be development for all and unity in diversity without any discrimination against castes, creed or religion; but now, the BJP government under Narendra Modi has failed in all issues of the country. He has failed economic development of the country by announcing demonetization overnight. The BJP ruled the country by polarizing Hindu radicals which give great misery to the minorities, he stated.

Dwijamani also spoke at the function who said even when he was in the BJP he did not accept their policy and their working nature. He said ‘Sabke Sathh Sabke vikas’ slogan under the Modi government is nothing but just a lie. Modi has done anything new for the welfare of the people, and what he did all those years in power were just changing the names of the schemes implemented by the UPA government.

The new party members who spoke at the function appealed the people of the state to change the government in the state and the centre for bring peace, development and progress.